Happy Birthdays!

IMG_1888

We headed home from Mom and Dad’s house in time to get ready for birthday weekend. On the way we met Ron and Paula for an early birthday lunch. IMG_1907

Following their cousins’ example, Jack and Gabriel decided they wanted to have their party at the park near our home.  I have decided there are pluses and minuses to such an arrangement. On the plus side, I don’t have to clean my house (though in all honesty, it is family and friends like family that attend our birthday parties and I don’t clean much for them anyway. They graciously take us, and the house, as it is). The down side is that it is possible to be late to your own party.IMG_6748IMG_6762

Jack wanted a monster theme, but settled for a cookie decorated like one of the monsters in Monster’s University.IMG_6746

Gabriel wanted Angry Birds.IMG_6743

I had managed a few years ago to make a Death Star piñata for Isaac and Stephen and this time Jack and Gabriel felt they should have a piñata also. For future reference to anyone trying to make a piñata, two days is not enough time for a piñata to properly dry. We put together a beautiful looking King Pig and filled him with candy. Once he was filled however, he was too heavy and too soft for the string to hold him and it tore right through. I sent Adam and the boys on ahead and did a quick repair job. Since he couldn’t be hung I had less than five minutes to come up with a new plan. I grabbed Sebastian’s t-balls that he got for his birthday and decided we’d just have to throw balls at the pig instead of hitting it with a stick. It proved challenging enough.IMG_6754IMG_6755IMG_6756IMG_6757IMG_6760

The sky grew stormy. We had just enough time to eat some cake and break the piñata. As soon as we started to open presents the sky opened up and down came the rain. We quickly headed to cars and made an abrupt end to the party. They opened their presents after we got home.

I celebrated my birthday a bit early. Adam got me tickets to a performance of Les Miserables and I went with my mother-in-law. I have seen the show three times now, but I never get tired of it. It was my mother-in-law’s first time to see it and I was glad to be able to share it. Adam and the boys also picked out a new picture for me, which now hangs in the hallway.IMG_1833

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Gabriel, Holidays, Jack, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Birthdays!

  1. Wolfe Carol says:

    Kathy is looking great! And you are wearing your necklace!

Leave a Reply

