Weekend Getaway Part 2

IMG_2074

Two weeks after my trip to Colorado I was back at the airport for a trip to Minnesota to attend a women’s retreat with church of the cross and spend time with my friend Cheryl. The trip there turned out to be quite an adventure. At 6:50, when my place was supposed to leave, they announced the plane had been delayed due to a fire in one of the Chicago control towers. At 7:30 they announced it was more serious than they thought at first and all traffic in and out of Chicago had been stopped. The flight was cancelled and there were no other flights to Minneapolis from Birmingham that day. They did have a flight from Atlanta. I called Adam to come and get me, thinking he would take me home where i could get the car and drive to Atlanta. He brilliantly suggested i look at renting a car, so I went to the rental car desks. There were not many one way rental cars available. Enterprise had one, but they wanted $800 for it! At Enterprise though, I did run into a group of three sisters also trying to go to Minneapolis who were driving to Atlanta to catch the same plane I was catching. I asked if they wanted to share a car (which we found at National for a much better price than $800.) I think they thought me somewhat crazy, but they took me in and we raced to Atlanta and had a great time talking along the way. We arrived just in time to make it to the gate in time to board. On the way from Atlanta to St. Louis I sat between to men who had been friends a long time and were returning from Florida and we talked the whole way. By the time we boarded the plan to Minneapolis I was glad to see the person next to me was not interested in talking–I was ready to rest. I got to Minneapolis 6 hours later than intended. Cheryl picked me up from the airport and brought me home. She and Gerard had fixed a feast of grilled salmon and roasted squash and brussel sprouts, complete with bread and fancy cheese, salami, and apples. It was wonderful.

Saturday morning we left for the retreat which was a beautiful campground outside Stillwater. It really was a restful retreat. We had a few sessions and a lot of free time to talk, hike, visit town, and rest. Sunrise over the lake was beautiful with a perfect reflection of the trees in the water.

Sunday night I spent with my newly meet friend Pam who cooked me dinner and then took me downtown to the stone arch bridge, a theater which provided a great view of the city, and Izzy’s ice-cream. She also gave me a Kombucha tea culture which I was happy to receive.

Monday I visited my friend Lucy. Since my children were at home and hers at school and taking naps we had our first ever adult only conversation. I went to Ikea to get some lamps for Isaac and Stephen’s room and spent the afternoon with Cheryl who fixed another wonderful dinner, complete with sauerkraut which I really liked.

Tuesday morning I spent at the narrative study I used to attend. It was wonderful to be back there. I miss that group so very much. We ate lunch out and then Cheryl took me for my first ever pedicure–which was very fun. (The massage chair was also very nice!) I flew out Tuesday night. My flight was delayed and I got home around 3:00 Wednesday morning.

It was a great trip. Adam and the boys fared fine without me. They camped in the new tent in the back yard and went on excursion day to Sylacauga along with Kathy. They spent time at the park and went for a Sunday drive to places they hadn’t seen before. The boys did their school work without me. We’ve done a little catch-up this week on things they missed. I’m not sure what they ate while I was away since there didn’t seem to be much food missing, but no one complained of going hungry.

I am ready to stay home for a while, but it has been nice to get away and have fun with friends.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

