A Shaving Party

This is my second shaving party. The first one was in nursing school when one of our assignments was to shave a man’s face. A few of my nursing friends and I gathered some brave men from our church and we together lathered their faces and gave them a shave. If memory serves correctly I think there was a good bit of laughing mingled with some pretend cries of pain.

Not long before it was discovered that my mother-in-law’s cancer had returned, I decided that if she had to do chemo again I would shave my head with her. My sister-in-law and brother-in-law had done it the first time she went through treatment, but at that point we were far away in Minnesota and so I didn’t participate. Her cancer returned and the day came for the shaving party. I went first. Having cut my hair shorter not too long before, I wasn’t sure I had enough to donate. I decided to make several pony tails close to my head in hopes they could use some of it. I gained a new appreciation for the complaints of my children when I cut their hair and sympathy for the first time I cut Adam’s hair and didn’t know the points of the guard were not what was supposed to go against his head.

I felt like if I was going to do it I needed to let the children decided for themselves if they wanted to participate too. Isaac, Stephen, and Jack seem to abhor haircuts (along with taking baths and combing their hair) so they didn’t have interest in participating. They have enough hair to make up for the rest of us. Gabriel quickly volunteered, but when the day came he wasn’t so sure. Sebastian’s eagerness at the idea was a bit alarming for all of us; none of us really wanted him to cut off his beautiful curls, but I could give all the others the opportunity to participate and not him. Gran shed a few tears watching those curls come off. Sebastian was all grins the whole time.IMG_7693

 

IMG_7699IMG_7700Gabriel had been one of the first to volunteer, but decided a day or two before that he didn’t want to. The following day however, after seeing Sebastian and hearing from him how glad he was I didn’t have to comb his hair, he called Gran back so she could witness his head shaving too. First he asked me to take a “before” picture.IMG_2766IMG_7705 IMG_7711
Adam’s normal look is now with a shaved head. Here we are in all our hairlessness!IMG_7716

And here we all are, hairy and hairless, loving Gran and thankful for her presence in our lives.

IMG_7722

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Gabriel, Sebastian, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

