Sebastian Turns 5! (Where have all my babies gone?)

IMG_2816Sebastian spent his 5th birthday in Washington DC. Gabriel planned ahead and brought along his present to the hotel–a treasure chest for him to paint and a Lego Minifigure. IMG_2787   For Sebastian it wasn’t his birthday until we had a party, so the day after we got home Mike, Kathy, Miranda, Sam, and Erin came over for cake and ice-cream. He decided a dirt cake with gummy worms sounded good. Gabriel whipped together a game of pin the tail on the pig. IMG_2849

IMG_2847

Sam and Sebastian

It occurred to me when we were at a restaurant the other day how long it has been since I asked for a booster seat. We no longer own one. I no longer have to buckle anyone into a 5 point car seat or dress any children. This fall all of my children will be school age. Each of them bring so much joy.

Sebastian, I love your sweet smiling face, the feel of your arms around my neck, the way you wrinkle your nose and exclaim, “Is that true?” when we tell you something you don’t believe. I loved your blond curly hair and love your now bald head and the way you rub my bald head when I hold you. I love having you sit on the counter in the kitchen while I work, even if it sometimes makes me crazy. I love that when I tell you I like you and love you you answer, “I know. You tell me 10 times a day.” Always know it, my sweet boy. I hope being 5 is a great adventure.IMG_2855

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Sebastian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sebastian Turns 5! (Where have all my babies gone?)

  1. tarabeth20 says:

    Sweet boy. Happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

