The Nativity Play

I can only begin to find words to express how thankful I am to have found a church community that feels like home to me. I am also very grateful that there are children there for my boys to make friends with and that they are encouraged to contribute to the well-being of the church. We started attending just in time for them to begin work on the children’s nativity play. Uncertain perhaps at first as to what this was all about, Isaac, Stephen, and Gabriel gave their tentative agreement to participate. Jack and Sebastian decided they would rather stay with me. They told after their first meeting their assigned roles: Gabriel was to be the inn keeper (the angel Gabriel had a good many more lines he said) and Isaac and Stephen got the important role of the donkey. Stephen was the front half and Isaac the back half.

Last Saturday we went to the dress rehearsal and Sunday they made their wonderful debut. I can’t remember when I last watched a children’s nativity play. (Maybe never?) I found it a beautifully simple reminder of the narrative we so often hear. It truly was a gift to the church and they had such a good time. Isaac and Stephen have already said they wish to be the donkey again next year and Stephen asked when he can be in another play.

I have a video for those interested. Here are some pictures:

IMG_3708

Gabriel the Inn Keeper

IMG_3721IMG_3722IMG_3725IMG_3730

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Gabriel, Holidays, Isaac, Stephen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

