Ice Skating at the Rathaus

IMG_4380Winter for us has been long. Someone has been sick for the last 5-6 weeks–flu, stomach bugs, colds and coughs, kidney problems, sore throats. People say if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything. So I haven’t blogged in a while. I’m sure I could have found something nice to say, but I have been tired. It occurred to me the other day though, that March was just around the corner. It gave me hope that Spring was coming and with that the realization that the seemingly long winter–and with it the opportunity for ice-skating–was almost at an end. Since I had promised the boys we would go ice skating this winter, I decided this week I better make it a point to go. So we made plans to go skating this past Thursday at outdoor rink set up outside the Rathaus. (FYI: Rat means counsel. Rathaus is the city hall building. The word for the animal rat is Ratte.)

The weather was a bit cold and wet, but we had the very pleasant surprise when we arrived that they were offering free admission, courtesy of Coca-cola and the Special Olympics, so we only had to pay to rent a few pairs of skates. Sebastian has been skating every week with his kindergarten, so he was pretty comfortable on skates. I went with him one week so I wasn’t too out of practice. It was fun seeing all his friends and I practiced my German with his teacher.

IMG_4309IMG_4310

This  was Gabriel’s first time and the other’s first time since our first year in Minnesota. Jack was 4 and the twins were 5 at the time. Our friend Lynn from church came along. The setting was beautiful with big open areas for skating as well as winding paths to circle around on. There was also a small beginners area with penguins to push around for balance. They did great.

It was a lot of fun and good exercise. I think next year I might have to get a season pass and go skate for an hour each evening. For now though, the ice skates are put away and we are looking forward to Spring. Today on the way to the playground I saw tulip leaves coming up!

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Vienna and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

