The Five Little Men are Growing Up

It’s been a year of quiet in this space. Life has been full these past 12 months–full of the unexpected (both pleasant and painful), full of new things, full of loss and grief, full of love, full of provision, and full of grace. I had thought this time last year that I was finished with this blog. These boys are growing up fast and in days where everyone has a camera and it seems you can’t make a mistake without everyone seeing and sharing, I at least want to be a safe place for them to live and learn. At the same time, we have been gifted with the blessing and the burden of having friends and family scattered all over the world, and I am not a very reliable correspondent. I started this blog as a way for family and friends to keep up with us and it worked well. I also have learned in looking back over past entries how much I have forgotten and I want my children to remember the things that happened in their growing up years. And so, with no promise of regularity, I will begin again–though the name of the blog no longer fits.

Tomorrow I send three children off on their first ride on the big yellow school bus to carry them away to middle school. (For some strange reason this seems harder than sending them off on the Vienna subway to go to their friends’ house.) These little people who used to compete for a seat in the grocery carts now reach my shoulder, and one of them has a foot equal in size to my own. My two littlest are entering 3rd and 1st grades. These that used to depend on me for everything now can fix their own breakfasts and do laundry and help me in so many ways.

I confess I teared up a little today at meet the teacher. It was in part because of the thoughtfulness of their teachers going the extra mile to make them feel welcomed and important. And it was in part because I know the tenderness of this moment and the value in it. And in part because it is another reminder that parenting is an exercise of letting go and trusting that the God who made these amazing boys I love will hold them and care for them and keep them.

Grace to you, my dear boys, as you begin a new school year. May you grow in knowledge and wisdom and love. May you live conscience of the presence of God’s Spirit in you and his amazing love for you.  It gives me such joy to watch the work he is doing in you.  I love you always.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Five Little Men are Growing Up

  1. Sheri Herum says:

    My heart is full reading this. You are an amazing woman, Wendy. I look up to you as a fellow mom and admire you as my friend. Thanks for being such a blessing to me!

  2. Mary Hoppe says:

    Great to hear from you, Wendy! Love to watch your little dudes becoming teenagers. Exciting days ahead for all! Thanks for posting…take care.

    • Mary! So nice to hear from you. I have very fond memories of playing at your farm and the fun of children playing in the creek and seeing the new cows. Hope you are all well.

Leave a Reply

